Happy New Year

January 1, 2010

It is amazing how taking a week off can be so darn busy!  Surely, part of the problem is that I never really took the week off. Between client matters, hosting friends and family post Christmas and again on New Year’s Eve, I think I worked more than if I had logged a full schedule at the office!  No complaints on my end, though.  I had an amazing year topped off by a joyous holiday season.  And I don’t for a minute take for granted that I spend my days doing something I love, and living my life surrounded by people I cherish.  What more could a girl ask for?

I’ll be back to blogging soon but I wanted to check in to wish you all a healthy, happy, beautiful new year.

paul davies modern home, red aspens, and snow, 2008

I am continually amazed at the warmth that eminates from a winter landscape.  The simple, vulnerable structure standing alone amidst the complicated, hovering landscape. Who hasn’t felt that way. This beautiful piece from Paul Davies portrays the beauty of that vulnerability and the importance of complex interaction.

I chose to start the year off with this image for a variety of reasons. I love its simplicity. I am drawn to the juxtaposition of subdued winter hues and hopeful pops of vibrant color, and inspired by the restrained elegance.

Refined sophistication and classic modernity in lieu of over the top glamour. Design and lifestyle inspiration for 2010!

Hoping your upcoming year is filled with simple beauty and complicated pleasures.

For more of Paul Davies work check out the cool blog “if it’s hip it’s here” .


Leave a Reply

